Niklas Sundin, guitarist and founding member of Dark Tranquillity, signs deal with Argonauta Records in new solo project


Niklas Sundin might have taken time off from being on the stage but that does not mean he’s not been busy at work behind the scenes. Most metal fans are well in the know about the Swedish melodic metal band Dark Tranquillity, responsible for creating the “Gothenburg Sound”. 

Niklas is about to release music as a solo artist called MITOCHONDRIAL SUN. He has just signed a worldwide record deal with Argonauta Records and will release his new album in 2020. So now we have something to look forward to.

Words from Niklas:

“I’m very pleased and excited to announce that the debut LP/CD of my MITOCHONDRIAL SUN project will be released on Argonauta Records early next year. The album has been a long time in the making, with some of the melodies and chord progressions dating back to the mid ’90’s, so it’ll be great to finally have it out in the open.“ Sundin comments.
“I first got in touch with Argonauta when creating the cover artwork for one of their bands and found them to be an enthusiastic and hungry label that’s not afraid to venture outside of the conventional borders. In other words, a perfect match for an experimental electronic album that covers a lot of ground and that’s hard to pigeonhole into any specific genre. This is my first solo venture in nearly 30 years as a musician, and even if I know that this style of music might not fit every metal fan, I think and hope that people will find it an interesting listen.”

Read about it here:

Niklas Sundin- Argonauta Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s